Are you afraid of flying?


Read this interesting post by Shanti and learn some useful expressions about traveling by air. The most useful expressions to learn are the ones in blue.

Then read the questions and write your answers in a comment below.

If you have already travelled by plane:

Do you like flying?

Which of the steps you take when you have to catch a plane makes you more anxious?

What is your favorite moment and why?

Have you ever had any bad experience while flying or at the airport?

Did you enjoy your last flight? If you did, why? If you didn’t, why not? Where did you go? Which company did you fly with?

If you have never travelled by plane:

Would you like to try? Why? Why not?

Which of the steps you take when you have to catch a plane do you think would make you more anxious?

What do you think would be your favorite moment and why?

46 thoughts on “Are you afraid of flying?

    • The first time I flew I was 10 and I didn’t like it because I was afraid that the plane fell, but now I find it wonderful! Even if there aren’t so many things to do during a flight, I really enjoy the landscape. The only one thing that makes me anxious is when I have to show my ticket and passport, because I am always worried about losing them.
      The moment I prefear most is when the aircraft accellerates to prepear for take-off, because I love the speed sensation!
      Fortunatelly I have never had any bad experience during a flight or at the airport. The last flight I did I was coming back from Paris, and yes, I really enjoy it, because I saw the sunset and the magical spectacle of city lights at night. I flew with Ryanair and I slept for most of the time, because after two hectic days in Paris I was very tired.

      • Excellent, I love flying too! My last time was when I flew to Sicily, during the Christmas holidays, and the landscape we could see during take-off and landing was really amazing 😊

    • Yes, that’s the worst bit! Especially if you’re flying to countries where passport control is really tough!

  1. Yes, I do, even if I get bored very easily while flying because there is not much I can do apart from reading or listening to music. The step that makes more anxious when I have to catch a plane is when I have to weight my suitcase because I always worried to pack more kilos than the ones that I can carry on! Now that I am older and I am more used to airplanes I do not worry so much before the flight. My favourite moment is when I get ready to take off and to land because I get to see the city below the airplane. This is more breath taking at night where I can see all the city lights. No, luckily I have not. Yes, I did! I enjoyed it because I was going back home after a month on my own in the United Kingdom. I flew with Ryanair and during the flight I studied and I looked down and I saw a lot of sea and some lands which I did not know. I spent two hours flying and I could not wait anymore to land!

    • Great! I enjoy flying too, I especially enjoy admiring the landscape when you fly over the Alps or along the coast. If a flight is long it can be boring, of course, but when you catch a long-haul flight you usually have your own TV screen to watch films, a pillow to relax and more leg space. My worst flight was when I flew back from New York because there wasn’t enough leg space and this is really bad when you have to spend six hours on the plane!

  2. Yes,i love travelling and visiting new palces always.The step that makes more anxious when i have to catch a plane is when i prepare the baggage at home because i’m always afraid when i arrive at the airport to check in,the baggage is too heavy.
    My favourite moment is when the plane lands and i’m arrive to destination.
    When i fly i always like a windows seat so i can see the city below the airplane.
    Luckily i’ve never had bad experience at the airport.
    Yes,i did.The last time i flew i come back after a month from Spain. During the flight i listened a music and i read.I flew with Ryanair.

    • I agree with you, the window seat is the best choice, you can really enjoy the landscape below while listening to music, and you can even take nice pictures, especially when you can sea some islands, or snow-capped mountains, or even lakes and forests.

  3. Yes, i really like flying.
    One of the steps that me makes more anxious when i have to catch a plane is the moment of the take off. Instead my favourite moment is during the trip, because i can see the beautiful landscape and i can relax.
    Fortunately i haven’t had any bad experience while flying or at the airport.
    I really enjoy my last flight, because he was very relaxing, i could see the beautiful landscape. Also that day it was sunny and there haven’t been turbulences. He was really a nice trip.
    I have gone in Sicily, to find my grandparents. The company where by i flew is Ryanair.

    • Hi Michelle, you surely mean you went to Sicily “to visit your grandparents “, not “to find” (that’s an Italianism).
      I love Sicily, and landing there is always a great pleasure! The landscape is amazing (and at the airport in Palermo you can buy a cassata in one of the best “pasticcerie”, Palazzolo, not to be missed!)

  4. Yes I love flying although I have flown only one time. The steps that makes me more anxious when I have to catch a plane are when the plain takes off and when the plain lands. My favorite moments are when i listen to music and I sleep in the plain. No, I haven’t. Yes,I did, because it was the first time and there were all my friends. I went to Galway with Ryanair.

    • Hi Samuele, it’s a pity that you’ve flown only once, I hope you’ll have the opportunity to fly again soon! Traveling by plane is really exciting!

  5. Yes, I would like to try because I think that it’s a good experience, especially for me as I want to travel the world.
    I think that “the check-in” step would make me more anxious because I fear that the machine could ring and I couldn’t embark me .
    i think that the landing would be my favourite moment because I would try a strange feeling and I would be very exciting to be arrived at the desired place.

    • Hi Giulia, you mean that you would feel really excited (not exciting), and you are right! I hope you’ll have the opportunity to fly soon!

  6. Yes, I really love flying, even if sometimes long flights can be boring.
    The step that makes me more anxious is when I board my luggage because I’m always afraid that it’s too heavy.
    My favourite moment is the journey, when i can admire the view outside the window and listen to music. Watching the clouds below relaxes me a lot.
    No, I haven’t and I hope I never will.
    Yes, I enjoyed it a lot. I was with my parents and we were returning home from Rhodes. We were flying with Aegean. It was the first time I flew with that company. I enjoyed it because they served us a delicious free meal and the flight attendants were very friendly.

  7. Yes, i really love to travel by plane, because you can do long trips in a short time and because it’s also very relaxing, but there is a step before boarding the plane, that make me more anxious, the check-in, because im always afraid that in my baggage there is any item that does not fit. My favorite moment is when the plane arrives at its destination, because I’m always happy to get there early. The only bad experience was when during the trip to France there was a strong turbulence and the plane began to move in a very strange way, but fortunately did not last long. I enjoyed it because I was going back home after a month on my own in France. I flew with Volotea’s company.

    • Hi Rosalba, I’ve never flown with Volotea. Would you recommend it? Are the services and facilities on board different from those of other low cost companies?

  8. yes, I really like flying,but unfortunately there was only one occasion.
    The most anxious moment for me was when the plane was for to take off,but the rest of the trip was peaceful and enjoyable.
    My favorite moment is when I can look out the window the beautiful landscape that surrounds us every day.
    My last flight is unique I loved it mainly because I was with my entire class.
    the trip to go to Ireland was relaxing and fun.
    The company where by i flew is Ryanair

    • Hi Sara, I hope you’ll have the opportunity to fly again soon! What did you enjoy most about your trip to Ireland? Was the weather fine?

  9. Yes, I really love flying even if I get bored easily after ten minutes because I only can listen to music and reading a book.
    The step that makes me more anxious when I have to catch a plane is when I weight my suitcase because I’m afraid that it’s too heavy. When I was in Eindhoven my suitcase weighted 14.9 kilos! I was afraid to have to leave something at the airport.
    My favourite moment is the journey, when I can see the view outside the window.
    No, luckily I haven’t.
    Yes, I did. I enjoyed it because I was with my classmates and we were returning home from Galway, in Ireland. I flew with Ryanair.

    • Yes, flying can be boring, but in long haul flights you usually have more facilities and services to keep you busy. When I flew to Los Angeles from Rome, a few years ago, I was given a pillow and a blanket, I had more leg space and a more comfortable seat, there were refreshments always available on board, and we all had a screen and earphones so that we could watch films or listen to music. It wasn’t so bad after all. Leg space is essential when you have to spend several hours on the plane!

  10. I dont’ like flying becuase I think it is very boring to stay in the airplane for a lot of hours, but at the same time I love travelling , so if I want to visit the world I am obliged to take the plane.
    The most anxious moment for me is the take off, I don’t know why but when we take off I’m never quiet. My favourite moment is when the plane turns off the engines because I finally arrived at my destination without problems.
    Six years ago, I went to mexico, from the airport of Pisa but that day it was snowing and all flights were canceled and i spent all night at the airport.
    Yes, my last flight was from valencia to pisa with Ryanair and i enjoyed it because I spent all the time to listening to music with a friend.

  11. Yes, I really love flying, because i like visiting new places. The step who make me more anxious is when the plain take off.
    My favorite moment is when I’m on the plain because I can see a beautiful view from this.
    Luckily i’ve never had a bad experience at the airport, or with the flight.
    I very enjoy my last flight, because i was with my friend Adele, and many others students from diffrent schools, and it was the first time I stayed away from my home for 2 weeks.
    I went to Canterbury, with British Airways company.

  12. I really enjoy flying and I do love travelling overseas. I can get very anxious when I have to do something before a certain time, so for me flying it’s a nightmare until I take a seat on the plane.
    My favourite moment is definitely the take off and the landing, but I also like feeling the plane tilting while changing directions mid-air.
    During my last flight, the landing was way too rude since the wind was very strong. It took my breathe away for a moment, but at the end it was only a bad landing.
    It was my return flight from Liverpool to Pisa with Ryanair: I slept all the time, I was very tired that morning since I had to wake up very early.

    • Hi Carlo, did you enjoy your stay in Liverpool and Chester? What did you like most and why? Are you looking forward to going back?

  13. I like flying because if I’m flying means I’m going to know a new place even if the flight is very boring.
    The step that makes me anxious before the flight is when I have to weight my luggage, but there is also a step that makes me anxious after the flight and is the baggage reclaim because I’m afraid that they have lost my baggage.
    My favourite moment is landing because means that the flight went well.
    Fortunately I haven’t had bad experience.
    Yes I did enjoy because I went with my friends. During the flight I took some photos at the clouds and at the landscape. I flew to from Pisa to Dublin with Ryanair for a school trip in Galway.

    • Hi Serena, I hope you enjoyed your stay in Ireland! What did you like best about it? Was it the first time you stayed in a family?

  14. Yes, I really love flying because for me it’s very relaxing. The step that makes me more anxious is when the plane takes off. My favourite moment is douring the trip becouse i can admire the beautiful landscape while listening to music with the ear-phones. No i haven’t had any bad experience while flying orbat the airport. I really enjoy my last flight because i was with my friends as well as my classmates. My last time i went to Ireland with Ryanair.

    • Hi Sara, it’s good to know that a lot of your classmates went to Ireland! Did you go on any excursions from Galway? Which one did you like most?

  15. I love traveling but not by plane! Despite it is the easiest way to get anywhere and the cheaper one, I always have some problem during the journey.
    The step that makes me more anxious is when I have to wait the departure of the flight. If one day I have to come back home and I don’t hear that the flight has called, I will miss it and this is my biggest fear when I’m at the airport.
    Obviously my favorite moment of the journey is when the planes takes off and I arrive to my destination alive!
    The reason of my hate to flying is that when the plane lands I usually start to have stomachache, headache or my nose starts bleeding and it doesn’t stop until I get down.
    My last flight has been the worst. I was coming back at home from Ireland with Ryanair, I thought to faint because of the agonizing headache that I had. My nose didn’t stop to bleeding even when I was already arrived since one hour!

    • I’m sorry to hear that… Some people get earache when the plane lands and that’s quite bad too…
      I’m also anxious about missing the call for the plane when I’m at the airport and that’s why I usually reach the gate as early as possible! Once I nearly missed the plane because there was a very long queue at passport control! I was coming back from Rotterdam and I had to run for the gate!

  16. I like flying so much because I like go around the world too!
    I’m not afraid to get in the air, however, when on the way there is a lot of wind or turbulence various, I start to have a little anxiety..
    Despite this, my favorite moment of air travel is precisely when the plane reaches the highest point above the clouds.
    Fortunately I’ve never had bad experiences during my travels, just bad weather..
    I enjoy my last fligth because I went to Ireland with my class and so with my friends
    We were so exited and it was a pretty trip, we traveled with Ryanair, that I think is the best fly company because is cheap and really safe, and there are fligths in some part of the world!!

    • Yes, Ryanair has really revolutionized air travel! Have you ever flown with other companies? Did you notice any differences?

  17. Yes, I really like flying, althought the wait before the flight may be boring.
    The step that makes me fell more anxious when I have to catch a plane is certainly the check-in, because my luggage always gets the maximum weight I can pack.
    My favourite moment is when the plane lands because, if it is a sunny day I can admire the city and the landscape where I will stay during my journey.
    Luckly I have never had bad experiences at the airport or during the flight.
    I really enjoyed my last flight because I was going back home after a week in Ireland. I flew with Ryanair and during the flight I spent my time listening to music and sleeping.

  18. Yes, i like flying. The most anxious moment for me is when I have to pass the metal detector , because usually I always have to take off my shoes .
    My favorite moment is when the plane leaves and rises in the sky because I like to see the landscape.
    No, i never had a bad experience at the airport.
    On my last trip , made ​​in Barcelona with rayaner , I enjoyed it because I was with my friends .

  19. I really like flying, But i’m going to be a little bit anxious when the flight take off , I remain motionless on the seat . During the rest of the trip I like listen music , read a book or watch the landscape trouth the roof .
    My favourite moment is whene the flight land because it’s like beging on the roller coaster.
    Luckily I never had bad experience.

  20. Yes, I like flying.
    Honestly I have never been anxious when I catch a plane.
    I love when the plane takes off because I feel relaxed and I can feel the speed.
    Luckily I never had a bad experience.
    I really enjoy my last flight, it was the last sunday when I came back from Albania. The journey was nice and the plane was very big. I flew with Alitalia.

  21. Yes, I do. I love to travelling so much that I enjoy taking a plane.
    When I’m at the security check I’m very anxious, because I’m afraid that there is something wrong.
    My favourite moment is when I sit on my seat and I look out and I see the airport. I think about where I will go and I relax, obviously, the time that I go abroad, not when I come back.
    I remember once, returning from Sharm El Shake that the plane flown over the airport for 45 minutes, because there weren’t tracks to land on.
    My last flight was fantastic, because before one month I saw my family, but also it was sad, because I came back from Valencia. I flown with

  22. Yes I do . I haven’t step that makes more anxious when i have to take a plane . My favourite moment is when the plane takes off and leaning to the little windows I watch the landscape which push away slowly. No I haven’t luckly. My last flight it was to London. It was a quite trip without unforeseen.During the flight I listened the music to entertain the time. The company of my flight is the Rayanair. Take the plane and to fly give always a great emotions and so is the means of trasport wich i prefer more

  23. I never take a plane in my life but I really would like to take it.. I think that the plane is fast and it can takes you everywhere, also if your destination is far. The plane of today are safe..
    My favourite moment I think will be at the end of the flight.. I would like to go into a plane but I’m scared.. One day I will do it

  24. Yes,i like flying.

    The step which makes me more ansious when i have to take a plane is The security control, because i’m afraid of have forgot to put everything in The right place. And have to re open my lauggages.

    My favourite moment is before to land,because i love watch The landscapes from The sky.

    No,i Never Had bad experiences.

    My last fly was with The company easyjet, i flew to mykonos,greace. I really enjoyed The Fly,because i loved to’ watch The “cicladi” islands from The sky

Leave a Reply

