Marketing Mix: Promotion

Techniques Notes
Advertising It’s the most expensive, but most powerful tool. It’s not personalised in any way. It uses mass media, and the message influences and stimulates the customer by focusing on the product. For instance you usually see images of idyllic beaches.
Direct mail It’s more personalised, it’s very common. Organisations target specific customers through the postal system. It’s commonly used by hotel chains to stimulate demand. Customer details from databases are used.
Telemarketing System aimed at creating interest through telephone calls. Potential customers’ details from databases are used.
Public Relations They consist in participating in trade fairs (such as the BIT fair in Milan) or organising familiarisation trips. It’s used to convey a positive image of an organisation and its products / services.
Personal Selling Face-to-face interaction to promote products or services is used. An example is a hotel receptionist promoting the use of the leisure facilities of the hotel (swimming pool, spa etc.).
Sales promotions Coupons, competitions, special offers and so on (wee case study about Great London Deals).
Sponsorship Organisations offer financial or other support to community events or commercial activities in order to gain greater recognition for their own products or services.
2 thoughts on “Marketing Mix: Promotion

  1. Yes I love flying although I have flown only one time. The steps that makes me more anxious when I have to catch a plane are when the plain takes off and when the plain lands. My favorite moments are when i listen to music and I sleep in the plain. No, I haven’t. Yes,I did, because it was the first time and there were all my friends. I went to Galway with Ryanair.

  2. Yes, I’m very keen on flying, travelling and discovering new places. The step that makes me more anxious when I have to catch a plane is when I have to weight my baggage because I often worried to pack more kilos than the ones that I carry on. My favourite moment is when the airplain is in the sky and I can see through the window the spectacular landscape below me.
    No, luckily I have never had bad experience while flying or at the airport. Yes, I really enjoy it because I flew with my best friend. The last time I flew I was going back home from Galway. I flew with Ryanair and during the flight I listened to music and I read a book.

Leave a Reply

